OFFICERS 2012-2014

CATHY DARLING ALLEN PRESIDENT Shasta County

NEAL KELLEY VICE PRESIDENT Orange County

DEAN LOGAN TREASURER Los Angeles County

SUSAN M. RANOCHACK SECRETARY Mendocino County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County JANICE ATKINSON Sonoma County SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County

JOSEPH HOLLAND Santa Barbara County

KATHIE MORAN Colusa County

JULIE RODEWALD San Luis Obispo County

BEV ROSS Tehama County

DEBORAH SEILER San Diego County

LINDA TULETT Monterey County LARRY WARD

Riverside County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Fremont City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

STEVE WEIR Contra Costa County REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County GAIL PELLERIN Santa Cruz County

ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

KAMMI FOOTE Southern Area Inyo County JILL LAVINE

Mother Lode Area Sacramento County AUSTIN G. ERDMAN

Central Area
San Joaquin County

ELMA ROSAS Bay Area Santa Clara County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

KATHIE MORAN Colusa County CRAIG KRAMER Sacramento County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE
Sacramento County
DEBORAH SEILER
San Diego County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

CATHY DARLING ALLEN, PRESIDENT

Shasta County Clerk
1643 Market Street, Redding, CA 96001
Tele 530-225-5730 Fax 530-225-5454
E-Mail: cdarling@co.shasta.ca.us
Website: www.caceo58.org

August 7, 2012

Senator Alex Padilla, Author State Capitol Room 4038 Sacramento, CA 95814-4900

Dear Senator Padilla:

At the July meeting of the California Association of Clerks and Election Officials Elections Legislative Committee, the membership voted to **Support SB 35** with the Committee's proposed amendments. We thank you for working with us and incorporating the proposed amendments on August 6, 2012.

SB 35 will expand access to voter registration in California by incorporating and establishing procedures for compliance with the federal National Voter Registration Act of 1993 (42 U.S.C. Sec. 1973gg et seq.) relating to voter registration services. SB 35 also expands availability of these services through service agencies as well as requires online access to voter registration where the service agencies maintains a website application process.

If you or your staff have any questions or wish to discuss our concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me at the Monterey County Elections Department, at (831) 796-1499.

Very truly yours,

Linda Tulett

Correspondence Secretary

California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

c: Honorable Filipe Fuentes, Chair, Assembly Appropriations Committee Honorable Christine Kehoe, Chair, Senate Appropriations Committee Deborah Seiler, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee Jill Lavine, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates